AmericanTruckersAtWar

Professional, Polite, Prepared to Kill

Traffic Alert – Iowa

Water forces section of I-80 to shut down

By WILLIAM PETROSKI

Transportation officials shut down traffic in both directions on Interstate Highway 80 at 8 p.m. Thursday at mile marker 266 in Cedar County.

Floodwaters were expected to approach and eventually cover all lanes of I-80 at the site just west of the Iowa Highway 38 interchange Thursday night.

Widespread flooding is affecting all types of transportation statewide, including highways, railroads, waterways and transit systems, according to the Iowa Department of Transportation.

I-80 detour: The I-80 westbound detour begins at U.S. Highway 61 in the Quad Cities. It continues north on U.S. 61 to U.S. 20/Dubuque. Then west on U.S. 20 to Interstate Highway 35. Then south on I-35 to I-80 in Des Moines.

The eastbound detour begins at I-35 in Des Moines. It continues north on I-35 to U.S. 20, then east on U.S. 20 to U.S. 61 at Dubuque. The detour then travels south on U.S. 61 to I-80 at the Quad Cities.

Local traffic will still be allowed to use I-80, including its entrances and exits, between the I-35 interchange in Des Moines and the Atalissa interchange at exit 265, and between the Iowa/Illinois border and the Iowa 38 interchange at exit 267. Traffic will not be permitted between the 265 and 267 exits.

I-80 is expected to remain shut for two to three days, said Dena Gray-Fisher, an Iowa DOT spokeswoman.

From the DesMoines Register

June 13, 2008 - Posted by | trucking | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

