AmericanTruckersAtWar

Professional, Polite, Prepared to Kill

My Mother’s Birth Certificate – And Obama’s

October 22, 2008
Joan Swirsky
(critical videos and documents below)
Four years ago, when I had just about completed the lengthy legal and financial vetting process required by the U.S. government to place my then-92-year-old-mother in a nursing home, I was asked to produce her birth certificate as “proof” of her citizenship. While she was born in America, had voted in every election for untold decades, and paid her taxes religiously, that wasn’t good enough to qualify my elderly mother  –deaf, legally blind, and confined to a wheelchair – to be admitted to the facility I had chosen for her near my home.

Frankly, I didn’t think finding my mother’s birth certificate was possible, given the fact that she had been born in a farmhouse in Storrs, CT, along with nine of her 10 siblings, to parents who didn’t speak English. Despairing that she would never be “qualified” to receive the care she desperately needed, I set about to find the document, which I was sure had vanished in the unreliable record-keeping of 1913.  Full article at Right Side News

October 22, 2008 - Posted by | Politics | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

