AmericanTruckersAtWar

Professional, Polite, Prepared to Kill

KGL, Iraq Contractor, May Avoid $4.9 Million Fatality Verdict

Jan. 9 (Bloomberg) — A federal judge has said he may be forced to render an “injustice” and cancel his order telling a Kuwaiti military contractor in Iraq to pay $4.9 million to the family of a U.S. Army officer killed in a road accident.

The contractor, Kuwait & Gulf Link Transport Co., is asking U.S. District Judge William Duffey in Atlanta to throw out the 2007 default judgment, arguing he lacks jurisdiction over the foreign company for a wreck that happened overseas.

Duffey’s remarks at a Dec. 5 hearing suggest he is leaning in that direction, said an attorney for the family of deceased Lieutenant Colonel Dominic Rocco Baragona. The judge might rule at any time.

“I think what the defendant has done here is ghastly,” the judge said, referring to the Safat, Kuwait-based trucking company, according to a transcript of the hearing. “I’m going to interpret my law and my Constitution the way my courts tell me that I should, even though in the bottom of my heart I might think that I am ultimately working an injustice.”  More HERE

January 9, 2009 - Posted by | Iraq, trucking | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

